It’s ok to be skeptical and pessimistic about Discovery. It’s ok to be excited about Discovery. It’s ok and possible to be both too.


It’s ok to be skeptical and pessimistic about Discovery. It’s ok to be excited about Discovery. It’s ok and possible to be both too.

This sub seems to have been very divided in the past couple months. Either I read the singing praises of Discovery or I hear great pessimism. In the comments, of course, there's just endless arguing and finger pointing and name calling about either side. "Quit being so pessimistic" or "Quit being a fanboy / CBS plant" are extremely common.

There are extremely good reasons to be one or the other. I think we all need to chill the fuck out and wait until it releases to really be able to put opinions in check.

I'm not exactly excited about Discovery. I don't like the CBS All Access nonsense, I don't like where they placed it in the timeline, I don't like that they're throwing in obvious ratings and familiarity ploys like Tribbles, I don't like the fact that they've been through several high ranking crew members already, and being delayed multiple times doesn't help any of this. I think CBS REALLY screwed up the promotion for this series and instead of telling us these details, they should've kept their mouth shut until about a month or so before release. They should've taken a page from Nintendo and said "Hey guess what guys, new Trek series coming, it'll be out in X months / weeks!" after they ironed out all the BS.

That being said, we're getting a new Trek series! How much more exciting could that be? It's what we've all been asking for for years now and it's finally happening. We don't know yet, this might be the best Trek series to date. I'd love nothing more than to say that it's better than DS9 (my personal favorite). We're all Trek fans here, so let's hold SOME optimism. That's kinda the whole point of Star Trek in general right?

I fall into both camps, obviously. I think we should all try to be on the fence until we see the show.

Leave a Reply

