What Makes The City On The Edge of Tomorrow great?


What Makes The City On The Edge of Tomorrow great?

Hello. I have been on a journey to watch all of Star Trek for the first time in Chronological order. In the time leading up to TOS and the episode The City On The Edge of Tomorrow I actually happened to hear praise about the episode from various other media sources. When I finally watched the episode I was a little disappointed.

Don't get me wrong, it was a good episode. The tone even felt a little different though I couldn't put my finger on why. However I fail to see what makes it an episode worth lauding as having such a great teleplay. Is it perhaps context at the time of its original airing that I'm missing? There are other episides I enjoyed more due to the themes presented and the questions they brought to my mind. Is there something in consideration when screenplays/teleplays are critically reviewed that perhaps a layman like me doesn't understand without explanation?

I'd like to be enlightened on the community's thoughts.

For anyone interested my thoughts as I view are posted in twitter with the hashtag #atrekkieisborn

Leave a Reply

