Did people make a big deal out of Sisko being black or Janeway being a woman?


Did people make a big deal out of Sisko being black or Janeway being a woman?

I'm curious. I was born in '93, so obviously was not paying attention to these kinds of things. I am sort of one of these people who complains about SJWs (don't attack me, please) and feel that, in modern movies and TV shows, certain things are done just for the sake of diversity and inclusivity. And people might just assume that if I'm not that big on Discovery, it must be because I'm racist (I don't like Michael Burnham, but because she is condescending and thinks she knows better than everyone else, not because of her race).

Or, if you don't like the new Star Wars movies that much, it's because you have a problem with female leads. I think this feeling of being lectured to, spoken down to, by shows and movies these days is why a lot of people complain about "SJWs". As someone said in another thread, Star Trek fans are the last people who need to be lectured to on the evils of racism or sexism.

So, I'm curious if, when Deep Space Nine and Voyager aired, the attitude was like this? Was it like, "If you don't like Voyager, you probably hate women #mycaptainisafemale"? I really love DS9 (have not watched through Voyager put plan to) and Avery Brooks once said he wasn't playing a black captain, he was playing a captain who happened to be black. And that, to me, is the problem with some modern shows and movies, that the character's race, gender, or sexuality is the larger part of their character, which is actually insulting to those groups.

Anyway, I'm sure I will be downvoted for this, but my question of "did people make a big deal out of it" is dependent upon whether or not you believe people make a big deal out of it today, to the point of thinking you're racist, sexist, or homophobic if you don't like a certain character, movie, or show.

People who were paying attention to this stuff in the 90s, was it the same kind of thing?

Leave a comment